Cyborg2 Community - Powered by UK2.NET & VPS.NET  

Go Back   Cyborg2 Community - Powered by UK2.NET & VPS.NET > CYBORG2.COM Game Servers > Game Server Administrators
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 28-03-07, 17:14   #1
zero2nine
Cyborg2 Member
 
zero2nine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Thisted, Denmark
Posts: 64
Smile Servers' sys_ticrate?

Could one of you admin-guys tell me this please? I've been translating some of the FAQ's for valve and happened to translate this. And also the "sv_minrate" & "sv_maxrate"? This could effectively put a stop to many rate-hack discussions.


Best regards
Zero... you know the rest
__________________
Sarah Silverman treats:
You're gonna die soon & give the jew girl toys
zero2nine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-07, 17:24   #2
LeonN
Cyborg2 Head Admin
 
LeonN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,496
Arab will be our Rate manager
__________________


Team anarchY Clan Leader

#UK2 and #[aY] on Quakenet IRC
LeonN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-07, 17:32   #3
zero2nine
Cyborg2 Member
 
zero2nine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Thisted, Denmark
Posts: 64
Hehe OK... oh and by the way, welcome home Arab.
__________________
Sarah Silverman treats:
You're gonna die soon & give the jew girl toys
zero2nine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-07, 12:21   #4
zero2nine
Cyborg2 Member
 
zero2nine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Thisted, Denmark
Posts: 64
Hello???
__________________
Sarah Silverman treats:
You're gonna die soon & give the jew girl toys
zero2nine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-07, 12:22   #5
Ordog
Fighter, Lover, Legend !
 
Ordog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lancashire, UK (N.W)
Posts: 577
Hiya
__________________


Spam is fab, Spam is cool, Spams enough to make you drool !
Ordog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-07, 12:31   #6
zero2nine
Cyborg2 Member
 
zero2nine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Thisted, Denmark
Posts: 64
Unhappy

Noone want to answer?
__________________
Sarah Silverman treats:
You're gonna die soon & give the jew girl toys
zero2nine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-07, 13:16   #7
Queeg
Moooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
 
Queeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: West London
Posts: 3,981
Generally speaking, we tend to take a little while getting back about this sort of thing.
__________________
Mal: "Cut her down."
Villager: "The girl is a witch."
Mal: "Yeah, but she's our witch-" (cocks gun, points it at him) "-so cut her the hell down."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cord
Nah! I'd rather make reactionary sarcastic comments to whatever crazy ideas other people have.
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Crichton
“It's beer-o-clock, where the hell's my riot?!”
Queeg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-07, 21:44   #8
Arab
Cyborg2 Member
 
Arab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: .
Posts: 4,048
ooh wireless net ftw, currently in Landan or croydon to be exact.

sys_ticrate governs something called server FPS, now dont fall in to the trap that most cs players do and relate this to client FPS eg how fast the frames are drawn on your computer.

Server FPS (frames per second) varies depending on the map and the server load and in the case of UK2 how busy other servers are on the same box (for example 271 and 272 run on the same computer)

The ideal situation is to have the server under full load of players and have 100FPS (on the server)

I believe that Apok sometime ago set sys_ticrate to 150 so the run over when not underload and drop to around 100ish when loaded.

As for maxrate and minrate, maxrate is currently 20000, the max valve allow, not sure of the min value but last I heard it was quite low. If it was set to a high value, those on dial up and ISDN would suffer greatly as the rate would be far more than their connections could handle.

maxrate minrate deal with the client side cvar rate, this is the overall amount of data you get at a time from the server, those who set that low only disadvantage themselves.

it cl_cmdrate and cl_updaterate can affect your ability to hit a player.

seen as I am on a laptop and the keyboard sooks Ill leave this here for now, if you wish a more indepth explanation it will have to wait till next week
__________________


Windows: "Where do you want to go today?"
Linux: "Where do you want to go tomorrow?"
FreeBSD: "Are you guys coming, or what?"

Last edited by Arab : 24-04-07 at 21:47.
Arab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-07, 22:05   #9
RoGu3^SoLd13R
Banned By Popular Demand
 
RoGu3^SoLd13R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Newcastle, Wey Aye Man!
Posts: 699
you will go to jail for stealing peoples WiFi !!
__________________

RoGu3^SoLd13R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-07, 12:32   #10
zero2nine
Cyborg2 Member
 
zero2nine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Thisted, Denmark
Posts: 64
So their rendering frequency is 100-150. I just tested it and it seems about right. By the way you can clock (not all, but some) the server's sys_ticrate to 1000 +/- a few. However, the gains by doing this is, IMHO negligable.

ty Arab =)


Best regards
Zero2ninE
__________________
Sarah Silverman treats:
You're gonna die soon & give the jew girl toys

Last edited by zero2nine : 25-04-07 at 12:40.
zero2nine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-07, 15:34   #11
Steve-o||[^]
RARRRRRRR also PA
 
Steve-o||[^]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,798
<-- 10,000 sys_ticrate guy
__________________

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Steve-o||[^] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-07, 08:14   #12
zero2nine
Cyborg2 Member
 
zero2nine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Thisted, Denmark
Posts: 64
Yore kidding Steve-O, right? Otherwise how'd you do it ? Hack your way onto a Blue Gene, install and run a server ?
__________________
Sarah Silverman treats:
You're gonna die soon & give the jew girl toys

Last edited by zero2nine : 26-04-07 at 08:19.
zero2nine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-07, 13:35   #13
Steve-o||[^]
RARRRRRRR also PA
 
Steve-o||[^]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by zero2nine View Post
Yore kidding Steve-O, right? Otherwise how'd you do it ? Hack your way onto a Blue Gene, install and run a server ?
um...no?

Quote:
CPU In Out Uptime Users FPS Players
0.00 0.00 0.00 142 98 510.05 6
__________________

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Steve-o||[^] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-07, 14:13   #14
zero2nine
Cyborg2 Member
 
zero2nine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Thisted, Denmark
Posts: 64
Dude! that's not 10K FPS... that's 510. Let me guess, you got it running on either an AMD CPU or at least a non-Intel chipset?
What did you use for boost by the way?
__________________
Sarah Silverman treats:
You're gonna die soon & give the jew girl toys

Last edited by zero2nine : 26-04-07 at 14:18.
zero2nine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-07, 23:00   #15
Steve-o||[^]
RARRRRRRR also PA
 
Steve-o||[^]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by zero2nine View Post
Dude! that's not 10K FPS... that's 510.
i didn`t say it was 10k FPS
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve-o||[^] View Post
<-- 10,000 sys_ticrate guy
Quote:
Originally Posted by zero2nine View Post
Let me guess, you got it running on either an AMD CPU or at least a non-Intel chipset?
What did you use for boost by the way?
P4 3GHz and it`s a Windows box so..afaik pingboost doesn`t apply (or work)
__________________

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Steve-o||[^] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-07, 15:35   #16
zero2nine
Cyborg2 Member
 
zero2nine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Thisted, Denmark
Posts: 64
Hmmm ... I think we misunderstood eachother then. I thought you said you had ten-thousand FPS on a server? And it's not ping boost I'm thinking about (well it is, but only indirectly), it's the FPS-boost (windows media-player or something else with a hi-res multimedia timer), you have to have something running to get it over 100 FPS, which otherwise is max. Looks like you got a smooth running machine there... what was the IP:port again
__________________
Sarah Silverman treats:
You're gonna die soon & give the jew girl toys

Last edited by zero2nine : 27-04-07 at 15:38.
zero2nine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-07, 16:04   #17
Steve-o||[^]
RARRRRRRR also PA
 
Steve-o||[^]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,798
ah..fair enough

just basic HLDS running as a service..wmp seems to do nothing for me
__________________

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Steve-o||[^] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-07, 16:04   #18
Re|oad
Cyborg2 Member
 
Re|oad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: England UK North West
Posts: 2,692
Off Topic but Isnt Linux better to use than Windows?
Re|oad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-07, 16:18   #19
Steve-o||[^]
RARRRRRRR also PA
 
Steve-o||[^]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by Re|oad View Post
Off Topic but Isnt Linux better to use than Windows?
uuuuuuuum......last time i checked HLDS_l sucks the life from your box..or it always has for me! and i`ve not had any problems running with this windows setup since i`ve had it (~6mths)


..but that`s just my opinion
__________________

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Last edited by Steve-o||[^] : 27-04-07 at 16:25.
Steve-o||[^] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-07, 20:51   #20
zero2nine
Cyborg2 Member
 
zero2nine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Thisted, Denmark
Posts: 64
Honestly I wouldn't know which is better than the other. The few times I tried to install Linux, I find myself fighting to get things like drivers for my NIC or video-card working... and being a smalltown geek, I have noone to turn to. So each time it's stranded there... but if you know Linux, I suggest you give it a try. This is just a rumor I heard, and I cannot back it with any knowledge, I heard that memory-management is more efficient on any Linux machine, compared to Windows. But as this post suggests, are my experiences with Linux V E R Y limited.
__________________
Sarah Silverman treats:
You're gonna die soon & give the jew girl toys
zero2nine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-07, 21:51   #21
Ute
Deutschland for the EM2008!
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,666
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve-o||[^] View Post
uuuuuuuum......last time i checked HLDS_l sucks the life from your box..or it always has for me! and i`ve not had any problems running with this windows setup since i`ve had it (~6mths)


..but that`s just my opinion
Other than having to run windows media player or another program to activate the multimedia timing to boost the tickrate. Plus with windows processor affinity seems to stick hlds on a single logical processor, bad news for those of us with pentiums and HT on their servers. Even worse if you want to run multiple hlds's. grr. Course, if you know a solution to the processor affinity problem on windows I would be delighted to hear it. (and no I couldnt be arsed to switch to linux either, I am far to lazy to go to a datacenter and pull the damn thing out etc etc)
Ute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-07, 21:52   #22
Ute
Deutschland for the EM2008!
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,666
oh and, I hate computers
Ute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-07, 22:07   #23
Re|oad
Cyborg2 Member
 
Re|oad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: England UK North West
Posts: 2,692
I've heard of installing hlds using virtual directories and symlinks for the core-hlds installation, and then having individual users put thier own maps/cfg in their respective folders ontop of the virtual installation. Thus saving space. Do you think that this type of file setup would hurt performance?

Am sure Linux has some advantage.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Käthe View Post
oh and, I hate computers
I find that hard to beleive

Last edited by Re|oad : 27-04-07 at 22:10.
Re|oad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-07, 22:35   #24
Steve-o||[^]
RARRRRRRR also PA
 
Steve-o||[^]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by Käthe View Post
Other than having to run windows media player or another program to activate the multimedia timing to boost the tickrate. Plus with windows processor affinity seems to stick hlds on a single logical processor, bad news for those of us with pentiums and HT on their servers. Even worse if you want to run multiple hlds's. grr. Course, if you know a solution to the processor affinity problem on windows I would be delighted to hear it. (and no I couldnt be arsed to switch to linux either, I am far to lazy to go to a datacenter and pull the damn thing out etc etc)
erm...hlds seems to be using the HT on mine pretty well..totally unmodified tmk multiple hlds`s...worse? how so?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Re|oad View Post
I've heard of installing hlds using virtual directories and symlinks for the core-hlds installation, and then having individual users put thier own maps/cfg in their respective folders ontop of the virtual installation. Thus saving space. Do you think that this type of file setup would hurt performance?
unless you have an ickle HDD and/or have a super crazy ammount of RAM and CPU to run thousands of gameservers 313MB per gameserver (base HLDS + CS) isn`t gonna hurt you too much.. dunno how the hlds binarys work or if they allow you to re-use it. but i have my sbnc and eggdrop processes setup to use a central script directory via symbolics \n/,

if windows had a symbolic link feature (maybe they have..please tell me if they do) i wouldn`t have to coppy lots and lots of maps from one place to another :'(
__________________

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Last edited by Steve-o||[^] : 27-04-07 at 22:45.
Steve-o||[^] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-07, 08:03   #25
Ute
Deutschland for the EM2008!
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,666
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve-o||[^] View Post
erm...hlds seems to be using the HT on mine pretty well..totally unmodified tmk multiple hlds`s...worse? how so?
We have a server with 2 physical xeon HT's, HLDS only ever uses the first logical core. This is a documented restriction with hlds on windows. (and no you cannot just set processor affinity in the normal way) See if yours runs across both logical cores if you are running a single HT cpu.

It is worse with multple hlds's because both will use the first logical core.
Ute is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 14:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2007 by UK2.NET & VPS.NET