Cyborg2 Community - Powered by UK2.NET & VPS.NET  

Go Back   Cyborg2 Community - Powered by UK2.NET & VPS.NET > General Forums > Tech Zone
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-02-10, 22:14   #1
Arab
Cyborg2 Member
 
Arab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: .
Posts: 4,048
Puzzled by this one

Getting a strange problem with my main pc these past few days.

Power on OK
POST OK
Boot - stops just before the XP Splash screen is displayed, you can see the logo but it has not "faded" in. HDD Light goes out after a while, and there the machine stops.

Hitting the reset button, the machine will boot an aside from giving you the XP boot options will work normally

Motherboard Gigabyte GA-M770UD3 Rev2.0 Bios REV FG
CPU AM3 Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition
Ram 2 x 2GB Patriot DDR2-800, CL4 2.1v

Mobo is a few months old and the CPU and RAM are days old

XP install is two days old.
__________________


Windows: "Where do you want to go today?"
Linux: "Where do you want to go tomorrow?"
FreeBSD: "Are you guys coming, or what?"
Arab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-10, 06:00   #2
Grinch
Administrator
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,013
Your flux capacitor is broken!
Grinch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-10, 07:44   #3
Arab
Cyborg2 Member
 
Arab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: .
Posts: 4,048
Could well be, I actually left the machine booting, its not hanging it is pausing for around 60 seconds then it boots normally
__________________


Windows: "Where do you want to go today?"
Linux: "Where do you want to go tomorrow?"
FreeBSD: "Are you guys coming, or what?"
Arab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-10, 11:57   #4
Agent-r00tk1t
Admin type person
 
Agent-r00tk1t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: London
Posts: 3,106
My laptop used to freeze in this way when it used to overheat (the little extractor fan on the side got a bit clogged). It would freeze around halfway into the XP fade.

But, yeah seems like at that point the taps are turned on so to speak, making the chance to expose any weakness more likely.
Agent-r00tk1t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-10, 23:23   #5
Arab
Cyborg2 Member
 
Arab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: .
Posts: 4,048
Well tried various things today

Slung in another hard disk and stuck on XP Pro with SP2 - results were the same as the initial install.

Nuked that install on the second disk and tried Windows 7 RC2 x64 Ultimate Edition and that seemed to work ok.

Tried windows XP SP3 from CD rather than the network installs I had been using incase something in the image was screwy.

Still the same.

In the end I did a full bios reset, and a completely removed the partition on the hard disk and install XP SP3 via the lan again.

Finally it just does what it is supposed to, POST then Boot no huge pause.
__________________


Windows: "Where do you want to go today?"
Linux: "Where do you want to go tomorrow?"
FreeBSD: "Are you guys coming, or what?"
Arab is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 20:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2007 by UK2.NET & VPS.NET