Cyborg2 Community - Powered by UK2.NET & VPS.NET  

Go Back   Cyborg2 Community - Powered by UK2.NET & VPS.NET > General Forums > Tech Zone
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 28-07-09, 19:10   #41
Skelly
Cyborg2 Member
 
Skelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,081
Well maybe building my own pc wasnt such a good idea! So many damn wires! And that bloody cpu fan is a nightmare to fit. Still not sure if its on properly. Hope I didnt fudge up the mobo trying to fit it either.

Just waiting on g-card to arrive and OS before i can boot it up and see if it even works!.
__________________
Skelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-09, 12:04   #42
Sleepz
Yes, I hate you!
 
Sleepz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: North East
Posts: 3,335
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skelly View Post
Well maybe building my own pc wasnt such a good idea! So many damn wires! And that bloody cpu fan is a nightmare to fit. Still not sure if its on properly. Hope I didnt fudge up the mobo trying to fit it either.

Just waiting on g-card to arrive and OS before i can boot it up and see if it even works!.
hehe that's one thing I had an issue with..I take it was like a lock in clip? It was just annoying to put in. Only ones I ever had a problem with.
__________________


[21:27:32] <dazrich> sleeps whare you live wrong person
[21:27:48] <@Sleepz> Spain, near Texas
[21:27:54] <@Steve-o||[^]> \n/,
[21:27:58] <dazrich> miles away :)
Sleepz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-09, 12:20   #43
Skelly
Cyborg2 Member
 
Skelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,081
it had 4 pins that you push through holes in the mobo and then you have to press down on them until they lock. Was not fun putting pressure against the mobo.
__________________
Skelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-09, 12:22   #44
Sleepz
Yes, I hate you!
 
Sleepz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: North East
Posts: 3,335
hehe :x I like those ones
__________________


[21:27:32] <dazrich> sleeps whare you live wrong person
[21:27:48] <@Sleepz> Spain, near Texas
[21:27:54] <@Steve-o||[^]> \n/,
[21:27:58] <dazrich> miles away :)
Sleepz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-09, 13:27   #45
Fozz
Cyborg2 Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Leeds
Posts: 710
My mobo was like that...it's easy to do when you're a complete noob (like I)...a bit like a haphazard attempt and Lego Technic when you're used to Duplo. Push, ping, in!
Fozz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-09, 16:55   #46
Arab
Cyborg2 Member
 
Arab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: .
Posts: 4,048
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skelly View Post
it had 4 pins that you push through holes in the mobo and then you have to press down on them until they lock. Was not fun putting pressure against the mobo.
Those are nasty, better heatsinks have four screws that connect to a mounting plate that attaches to the underside of the mainboard.
__________________


Windows: "Where do you want to go today?"
Linux: "Where do you want to go tomorrow?"
FreeBSD: "Are you guys coming, or what?"
Arab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-09, 17:07   #47
Sleepz
Yes, I hate you!
 
Sleepz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: North East
Posts: 3,335
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arab View Post
Those are nasty, better heatsinks have four screws that connect to a mounting plate that attaches to the underside of the mainboard.
Best ones by far..if there was a slight decrease in performance for this install I would take it :/
__________________


[21:27:32] <dazrich> sleeps whare you live wrong person
[21:27:48] <@Sleepz> Spain, near Texas
[21:27:54] <@Steve-o||[^]> \n/,
[21:27:58] <dazrich> miles away :)
Sleepz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-09, 21:56   #48
Arab
Cyborg2 Member
 
Arab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: .
Posts: 4,048
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sleepz View Post
Best ones by far..if there was a slight decrease in performance for this install I would take it :/
the plastic studs can wear if the heatsink is take off and put on a couple of times rendering the heatsink useless
__________________


Windows: "Where do you want to go today?"
Linux: "Where do you want to go tomorrow?"
FreeBSD: "Are you guys coming, or what?"
Arab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-09, 12:35   #49
Steve-o||[^]
RARRRRRRR also PA
 
Steve-o||[^]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,798
I don't think I've seen an LGA775-compatible heatsink that didn't use the plastic push-twist plugs.

AMD mobo's, at least up to Socket 939, had a pre-installed backplate and the 'retaining wall' where the nasty throw-arm H/S would lock into - which makes it super easy to replace with a screw-in type H/S.
__________________

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Steve-o||[^] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-09, 18:30   #50
Skelly
Cyborg2 Member
 
Skelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,081
EEEEEEE !!!!!!!!¬!¬!¬!

Well I got it all working.... so far . It all turned on ok and vista installed fine. So im pretty relieved that I didnt just waste £800 tbh. Gonna get hl2 ep2 installed and see how high I can bump it up.

Cheers for all the info and help guys. Has really been usefull.
__________________
Skelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-09, 22:06   #51
Arab
Cyborg2 Member
 
Arab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: .
Posts: 4,048
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve-o||[^] View Post
I don't think I've seen an LGA775-compatible heatsink that didn't use the plastic push-twist plugs.

AMD mobo's, at least up to Socket 939, had a pre-installed backplate and the 'retaining wall' where the nasty throw-arm H/S would lock into - which makes it super easy to replace with a screw-in type H/S.
Only the el cheapo EI systems machines we service have the plastic twist grips everything else Packard Bell / Acer / HP / Compaq all use a mounted metal backplate with a plastic insulation layer and heat sinks that mount via 4 screws for 775. All AM2/+ have a similar arrangement that is already premounted on the boards.
__________________


Windows: "Where do you want to go today?"
Linux: "Where do you want to go tomorrow?"
FreeBSD: "Are you guys coming, or what?"
Arab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-09, 11:42   #52
Grinch
Administrator
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skelly View Post
EEEEEEE !!!!!!!!!!!

Well I got it all working.... so far . It all turned on ok and vista installed fine. So im pretty relieved that I didnt just waste 800 tbh. Gonna get hl2 ep2 installed and see how high I can bump it up.

Cheers for all the info and help guys. Has really been usefull.
Well done! You'll prolly never buy a PC again now and always do it yourself
Grinch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-09, 14:08   #53
Skelly
Cyborg2 Member
 
Skelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,081
I was more worried about breaking the parts but it turns out most of it is more robust than I thought it would be.

Fired up hl2 episode 1 today and turned everything up to max. Still getting between 150 and 299 fps . Just gotta save up a bit of cash now so I can get a decent monitor.
__________________
Skelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-09, 09:50   #54
DazzaD
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Dagenham
Posts: 2,139
The first few times I built things myself I was always worried about having to push so damn hard on the motherboard to get certain items in.

It was always handy having my dad around. Having been a mechanic all his life he thought nothing of pulling out the RAM that didnt fit properly and filing it down!
__________________
DazzaD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-09, 11:59   #55
Steve-o||[^]
RARRRRRRR also PA
 
Steve-o||[^]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arab View Post
Only the el cheapo EI systems machines we service have the plastic twist grips everything else Packard Bell / Acer / HP / Compaq all use a mounted metal backplate with a plastic insulation layer and heat sinks that mount via 4 screws for 775. All AM2/+ have a similar arrangement that is already premounted on the boards.

Well yeah, those being pre-assembled systems.
__________________

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Steve-o||[^] is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 20:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2007 by UK2.NET & VPS.NET