Cyborg2 Community - Powered by UK2.NET & VPS.NET  

Go Back   Cyborg2 Community - Powered by UK2.NET & VPS.NET > General Forums > Tech Zone
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-03-09, 15:22   #1
takkischitt
Cyborg2 Member
 
takkischitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Home: Northern Ireland, Studying: Preston, Lancs.
Posts: 1,206
Laptop RAM

sister has a Compaq laptop or something, but she wants more RAM... I put Cpu-z on it and from what Cpu-z said I think the max Hz you can go is PC2700 (333)...

does that mean I cant put in PC4200 (533MHz), PC5300 (667MHz), PC6400 (800MHz)...? all these are under 20 for 1GB sticks... where as PC2700 (333) 1GB sticks are 35-40...

Last edited by takkischitt : 04-03-09 at 15:25.
takkischitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-09, 19:02   #2
Arab
Cyborg2 Member
 
Arab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: .
Posts: 4,048
Quote:
Originally Posted by takkischitt View Post
sister has a Compaq laptop or something, but she wants more RAM... I put Cpu-z on it and from what Cpu-z said I think the max Hz you can go is PC2700 (333)...

does that mean I cant put in PC4200 (533MHz), PC5300 (667MHz), PC6400 (800MHz)...? all these are under 20 for 1GB sticks... where as PC2700 (333) 1GB sticks are 35-40...
Correct 1st time, you might get away with pc3200 (400) but that may cause instability
__________________


Windows: "Where do you want to go today?"
Linux: "Where do you want to go tomorrow?"
FreeBSD: "Are you guys coming, or what?"
Arab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-09, 19:23   #3
takkischitt
Cyborg2 Member
 
takkischitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Home: Northern Ireland, Studying: Preston, Lancs.
Posts: 1,206
why is it so much more expensive...?
takkischitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-09, 19:28   #4
Arab
Cyborg2 Member
 
Arab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: .
Posts: 4,048
Always happens with older types of ram, its not made in such high volumes just like when DDR3 becomes all the rage it will be cheap and DDR2 will get more expensive
__________________


Windows: "Where do you want to go today?"
Linux: "Where do you want to go tomorrow?"
FreeBSD: "Are you guys coming, or what?"
Arab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-09, 13:27   #5
Steve-o||[^]
RARRRRRRR also PA
 
Steve-o||[^]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,798
Aside from the possible SO-DIMM issue, PC2-4200, PC2-5300 and PC2-6400 wouldn't be compatible anyways - PC-2700 is DDR, the rest are DDR2 and have a different pin configuration and voltage requirements.

I have an old dell that shipped with 256MiB PC-2700, and I've upgraded that to 2GiB of PC-3200, and the BIOS (non-user-changeable) selected to run at 166Mhz*2 - firing up CPU-s shows that the modules I'm using have a few 'profiles' that they'll operate comfortably in.
__________________

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Steve-o||[^] is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 23:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2007 by UK2.NET & VPS.NET